After I published my article about all the things I love about the United States (well, of course, there weren’t ALL of them), I decided to not be biased and with this intention, I created this one about the “weird” side of America.

NO BREAD

First of all, You guys have 200 different kinds of toasts but NO real bread. I miss our bread and all the goodies and pastry from the bakery so so much!

Image result for pecivo
For You guys, Americans: THIS is what I’m talking about. (It’s soo good!)

CRAZY PORTIONS

Once we went out for some breakfast with my family, I ordered an omelet. What came to me was not what I expected at all. Not that I didn’t like it but I was definitely not hungry till supper time. It was an omelet from 3 eggs with a ton of hash browns, toasts, and sausages. That didn’t really seem like a breakfast portion. So when You would order a pancake, Be prepared for 2 giant pancakes. I mean, really GIANT.

STRANGERS HAVING A RANDOM CONVERSATION WITH YOU

Although I found it weird because I am not used to it, it’s kinda nice and I like it. It feels like people are friendly and care about you.

FLAGS EVERYWHERE

Probably just in case, I forgot where I am. They are everywhere!

 

 

COMMERCIALS

Commercials here las literally forever and some of them are totally weird. I’ve never seen that many commercials for lawyers and prescription drugs. Although, some of them are actually fun to watch. They are so different than back home. They almost are like short movies.

PS: 90% of commercials are on medicine.

WHY ARE THERE HUGE GAPS ON THE EDGE OF THE TOILET DOORS?

In every public bathroom, everyone can see you. Yes, even though You close the door. It’s very strange. And it’s only in America. And I don’t like it at all.

Image result for gaps between the toilet door in america
Believe me, it is a weird feeling.

CHEESE IS ON EVERYTHING

Unfortunately, for lactose intolerant people like myself. Americans LOVE cheese. They put it on everything. I mean it. EVERYTHING. Although back home we have so many different kinds of cheese, here it is mostly cheddar cheese only. But it is still everywhere. Sometimes I wish I could eat it.

PEOPLE BUY DVDs

I didn’t know they are here so serious about downloading movies. One exchange student got fined for downloading movies on the internet. So, better don’t do it. It’s weird for me. I have never buy a single DVD. And I still watched a ton of movies. In Europe, they don’t mind downloading at all.

AFTERSCHOOL ACTUALLY EXISTS

While my teachers in Slovakia are just “scaring” students with an afterschool program, here it is a real thing. You have to get your work done.

PRICE TAGS DON’T INCLUDE TAXES

It kinda sucks when You think You will pay less than You will actually pay honestly.

PEOPLE SIMPLY DON’T WALK. GET USED TO IT

It is just a fact. Doesn’t matter if it is one block away. Get in the car!

CHEERLEADERS

They actually exist! Don’t think I am crazy. We don’t have cheerleaders. We don’t even have sports teams in schools.

IMG_0290.JPG

EVERYTHING IS FROZEN 

Rice, pasta,… everything. You can just heat it up in like 4 minutes in a microwave and You are good to go!

EVERYONE TALKS ABOUT POLITICS

All the time.IMG_0133.JPG

YOU DON’T HAVE TO CARRY SO MUCH BOOKS AND NOTEBOOKS

When I came here, I used to write down everything by hand. Now, I don’t write at all. I have all of my notes on my computer. Unlike in Slovakia, where we have to carry one book for each class, here we don’t have any textbooks. (Luckily).

IMG_0070.JPG

DONUTS ARE EVERYWHERE

Back home, I haven’t eaten a single donut. Here? If you want, you can add them to your daily menu.

IMG_0220.JPG
There is plenty of them. And they are everywhere.

I hope You enjoyed the time You spent on reading my article.

PS: Nothing from the list was an insult, nor was meant in a bad or offensive way.

PS2: You will get fat. Take it or leave it.

Have a nice day! 🙂

xoxo, Laura ❤

