When I first came here, everything was so different. And when I say everything I mean literally everything! From the light switches and doorknobs to the food and people. It took me a little time to get used to not hugging and kissing everyone as we do in Slovakia, completely not walking from place to place, but the hardest was probably getting used to speaking in English with pets. Seriously, it is so weird. Well, it is also really embarrassing when they make You hold a little kid and you don’t have more to say than “hi”, “You are a little cutie” and keep repeating it. But there are a lot of things that I got used to really quick because I love them. Here is a couple of them that I can think of.

FREE WATER IN ALL RESTAURANTS

While in Slovakian restaurants I didn’t get water after the meal because it would cost me another $1.50, here you can get as much water as you want. And it’s free. When I realized this I couldn’t believe it! I wish it was like this everywhere.

FREE REFILLS

Speaking of drinks, You also have free refills of anything. Which is so unusual back home. Or maybe people there are just not that thirsty.

EVERYONE SPEAKS ENGLISH

Well yeah, this might sound a little bit strange. “You are in America. What did You expect? Of course, I knew everyone would speak English but it is just so cool to hear kids as well as really old people speaking English. What’s so cool about it? Well in Slovakia speaks English usually only the young generation which have English as required language and if someone so old speaks fluently English everyone is so amazed. That’s why it is so cool for me. Sometimes I still can’t believe it. Also the feeling that a 4-year-old speaks better English that I do. It’s kinda funny.

DIVERSITY

It is so nice how much diversity is here. People here have so many ancestors from different countries.

WORKING EVEN THOUGH YOU DIDN’T REACH 18

You can have a regular job even if you are 15. I am pretty jealous of that because back home we can work from 18. So then we can’t get our own money by having a regular job.

SCHOOLS

No need to say more. I just love them!

CAR WHEN YOU ARE 14? 

Who wouldn’t want that? Of course, there are more restrictions as from 16 but still. A CAR WHEN YOU ARE FOURTEEN?

E-BAY IS QUICK

That’s probably kinda dumb but it makes no difference. I still love it. You don’t have to wait an eternity. Which is helpful. And great. And awesome.

FRIENDLINESS WHEN THEY MEAN IT

Most people are so friendly and willing to help. I love it!

FRIENDLINESS EVEN WHEN THEY DON’T MEAN IT

It kinda goes hand in hand here.

TV SHOWS

Although I don’t watch TV, it is cool to watch all the famous shows live.

SURVIVING WITHOUT CASH

If I would try to pay a pack of gums with a credit card at home, the cashier would probably send me home. Here it’s normal.

YOU CAN HAVE YOUR HOUSE DELIVERED

It might sound really weird to You if You are not from America. So did to me. But when I saw it, I was convinced enough. A big car can literally pick up a built house and deliver it to the neighborhood in one day. So You can go to sleep in the evening and by the time You will wake up, You will have a new neighbor.

EXCHANGING THINGS IN SHOPS

Unlike in Slovakia, there is absolutely no problem with exchanging things you bought or received as a gift. You can buy and then return back literally everything here and no one has a problem with that.

DRIVE THRU EVERYTHING

While in Slovakia we have probably only drive-thru McDonald’s, here You can drive thru anything. ANYTHING!

MY FRIENDS

Because they are the best and I am so happy I have them.

MY US HOST FAMILY

For me, it makes sense more without the “host”.

I love them.

I hope You enjoyed this article and you got to know something new! 🙂

xoxo, Laura ❤

