Hi!

We all know that every school is different. Therefore, we should expect it will be different in completely another state (and continent) also. That is what I said to myself as well. “It can’t be THAT different”. Nevertheless, the opposite came true. I attend a small public school so my expectations weren’t tremendously high. Yeah. I expected a nice school, typical lockers and yellow school buses, a lot of different classes and prom…Although this is true, I created a list of facts about American schools that I was pleasingly surprised with. (Yes, I did not expect to have a private theater in the school).

IMG_0216.JPG
My school

 

IMG_0498.JPG
The school bus. Yes, it is free

1. RECEIVING A COMPUTER

Yes. On the first day I came to my new school I received a new computer to be able to do school stuff. Although we are allowed to take it home so it is not ONLY for homework.

2. TEACHERS 

I love all of my teachers. Seriously. They are all so kind and willing to help. You don’t have to say “hi” to them first. I like that when they see me, it is not unusual for them to start the short conservation with: “hi, what’s up? How you doin?”  They treat everyone equally and also find some time for fun. Once, my geometry teacher came to the school covered all in black and said he is “divided by zero”. Other teacher created “song Thursdays” and he plays the guitar while singing some math songs that he wrote. All the teachers here are much more creative,  interacted and connected with the school and students.

When it was the first day of school, all the teachers had a presentation about them, their life and families. It was really nice from them to share some private information so we could feel more close to them.

3. ACTIVITIES

I love how the school is not only a place to study here. It provides you with a whole bunch of different activities from key club to a choir. You can fill your afterschool time with joining some sports where you can be a part of the team. You will find a lot of friends which will treat you nicely. You will also ride with your team to a bunch of places for the meetings.

Moreover, because of this, the school is opened till late evening and you can spend your time there also. I personally love to stay in the art room working on my art projects. Some people stay after school in the library and study.

IMG_2243.JPG
Working on my art projects

Also, the school has a lot of things like homecoming, winter formal, games, prom, etc.

IMG_1696.JPG
Do not be worried if you will not understand the rules of football. I got to know on the last game. Until the game, I was basically just cheering.
IMG_1718.JPG
IMG_1728.PNG
🙂
IMG_1430.JPG
Homecoming ❤

4.TUTORS

If you are struggling with something, don’t worry. The teachers picked up some really good students to be tutors. These students will help you with understanding the problem better.

5. REASSESSMENTS

If you aren’t satisfied with the results of some exams, you can always take the test again.  Obviously, the test for retakes are different and furthermore, a little bit harder. To have a chance of retaking the test you have to get done some reassessment homework, correct all the mistakes in your test, and fill in a reassessment ticket.

6. HOMEWORK

Speaking of homework, it is much more seriously taken than back home. Teachers collect all the homework back and correct it. Then you will have points or grades from your homework. Otherways, if you don’t get your assignments done, you will stay a bit longer and have an after school program.

7. THE SCHOOL LUNCH

It is MUCH different. In Europe, I had cooked meals consisting of the soup and the main meal every day. On the other hand, in the US it is just a dream I wish would come true. Although, some of the meals are good. But overall I do miss all the Slovakian food.

IMG_0166.JPG
School lunch
IMG_0087.JPG
And one more

8.THE SCHOOL IS BEAUTIFUL 

IMG_0148.JPG
Library
IMG_0150.JPG
Learning center
IMG_0219.JPG
Gym

9. OUTFIT

Unlike in my school in Slovakia, here no one cares about what you wear to school. You can have basketball shorts or sweatpants on and no one will judge you.

PS: I LOVE KAHOOT

xoxo, Laura ❤

